TRAVELLER'S REVIEWS

Travel experiences of our clients who recently returned from their trips.

100%
Satisfied

Based on 163 reviews

Deluxe trek to Everest

| Mar 05, 2020
Felix Crawford
United Kingdom flag United Kingdom
Pre-trip Info
Staffs
Transportation
Value for Money
Woohoooo- did my dream-trek to Everest. It was a fantastic experience. The heli flight to Lukla from Kathmandu and back to Kathmandu was the best part of this trek. My itinerary had a hike to Kala Patthar too. I thoroughly enjoyed my brief time in Kala Patthar. I was dancing amidst some of the highest mountains in the world. My dream to stand before Everest came true- thanks to Third Rock for this trip, everything was perfectly organized. I tasted mountain-meals, slept at the teahouse owned by local people, who were kind enough to make me smile every day. My guide was knowledgable and sometimes funny. Overall this trip was a life of a lifetime for me. I want to trek to Everest base camp again. I shall be back to Nepal in 2022.
Yes

Best Trek Ever

| Mar 04, 2020
Albert Berger
United States of America flag United States of America
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

Recently did my best ever trek to Everest Base Camp. Never thought that this trek to EBC will give me so much of memories. I with my best friends planned it since 2016 and finally did it. We did thorough research before we could trust some random company. What mattered to us was the client's satisfactory and their review and luckily we got to contact Naba from Third Rock Adventures. He had extensive knowledge of treks and tours in the Himalayas of Nepal and we could not simply let it go, so booked with him. Just before a week to our flight to Nepal, Naba personally called me and consulted the practices and gears for the trek. He also let me talk with my trekking leader and that really was professional. When we were in Kathmandu, we had nice talk and pre-trekking meeting. We shopped whatever was needed in Thamel. The time was perfect, weather was lovely, had an opportunity to meet with Sherpas in Namche. I always admired their strength in the Himalayas. Got nice photographs of the himalayas and Sherpas. My guide was firm and friendly. He pre-managed everything and had us enjoy the trek to the fullest. No altitude problem- thanks to the itinerary that included 2-days acclimatization in Namche and Dingboche. We had ample time to hike and get going with Himalayan lifestyle. Our meal was great, loved DAL BHAT and the hospitality of Nepali people. When we were back after our successful trek, we had FAREWELL DINNER. This was a great treat for us. Our words here may not be able to justify the service offered by Third Rock. We want to thank them from the core of our heart for such wonderful service.

An unforgettable experience in Nepal Himalayas

| Mar 04, 2020
George Lindqvist
Sweden flag Sweden
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

My partner and I completed Annapurna Sanctuary with Third Rock Adventures and had the most amazing time. Our trekking guide was professional and incredibly knowledgeable. We made lifelong friends and saw some of the best parts of Nepal. We reached out to Naba. He was brilliant, easy to contact and very efficient. Everything was hassle-free. Overall, brilliant service from all involved and made our trekking experience an unforgettable one. Would love to travel with Third Rock Team again.

Best Destination,Good Value
Yes

Memories of Cherish

| Mar 03, 2020
Jack Nilsen
Norway flag Norway
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
I have done a few one-day hikes and a couple of short multiday treks, before doing 10 days Khopra Ridge Trek. While searching for a trekking company I came across Third Rock and I enquired. When they asked me, I told the team of Third Rock about my preferences. First, I wished to enjoy the Himalayas of Nepal in seclusion. Second, since this is going to be the first trek of my life, I wanted to do something where I can enjoy more than struggle through the trek. But, I was up for some challenges too, if they were rewarding. The team suggested me to go on Khopra Ridge Trek. It was a different suggestion than other trekking companies. I was skeptical at first but after I read the itinerary, I felt they had listened to me carefully and suggested as per my preferences. The trek went smoothly. Some of the highpoints of my trek was a thrilling ridgeline walk to Doughbato, a long hike to Lake Khayer, and magical sunrise from the famous Poon Hill. Hike to Khayaer was tough but the calmness I experienced there is invaluable. I have to say the weather was mostly in our favor. Watching mesmerizing sunsets (mostly) and sunrises over the Himalayas is etched in my memory. I had heard a good guide can make your trek the one to remember for a lifetime; can’t agree more.
I like itinerary,
Yes
Yes because they listen to your preferences and suggest accordingly

A fantastic trip to the Top of the World!

| Mar 02, 2020
Dylan James
United States of America flag United States of America
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
Words don't do justice. This trip was fantastic - from day one to the time I boarded my return flight. This was my first trip to Nepal and I was blown over the warm hospitality and genuine kindness of the people and of course the natural beauty. Everest Luxury Trek and Helicopter flights proved to be a mind-blowing experience for me! A big thumbs up to Third Rock for suggesting this trip and for their excellent service!
Recommended by Friend,
Yes
I had a very short vacation and wanted to visit Everest Base Camp.

A luxurious everest trekking experience

| Mar 01, 2020
Remi Ouellet
Canada flag Canada
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
We chose to travel to Nepal for our 25th marriage anniversary. We had already trekked in Nepal to ABC and loved it immensely. To celebrate this milestone in our lives we felt we needed to travel to the top of the world, literally. Having traveled with Third Rock previously, we chose this company again to organize our trip as they delivered more than we expected the last time we traveled we with them. They were efficient and took pretty good care of us. So we contacted the team and they recommended Everest Luxury Lodge trek via helicopter. As this trip promised what we more of less had in mind, we booked it. No regrets. Sounds clichéd, but this was indeed a a trip of lifetime. The helicopter flights were awesome while the luxury resorts offered amazing level of comfort and hospitality..it was great to enjoy a hot shower and sleep in a warm bed after a hard day’s trek. Though a bit on the pricier side we were glad we took this trip because the memories we made on this trip far outweighed the price. As expected the support staff (guide and porters) were courteous, helpful and efficient. Would recommend this company and this trip to anyone who looking for a high quality trekking adventure!.
Yes
We wanted a unique Everest experience to celebrate our anniversary/
From start to finish each and every moment was memorble

Mera Peak/Amphu Labcha Climb/Trek--Professionalism at it's best

| Feb 29, 2020
Corey Owen
United Kingdom flag United Kingdom
Pre-trip Info
Staffs
Transportation
Value for Money
My wife and I had a fantastic experience withThird Rock Adventures managed by Naba and guided by Chherwang. We had dealings with Naba with a previous company he was part of. Our successful collaboration there led us to seek out Naba at his new company, Third Rock Adventures. All was clearly set up and tailored to our individual needs as a private couple, and some of my wife's particular needs, dietary, and gear management, for instance. The price was very reasonable compared to the competition as well. Naba also was able to get some difficult to acquire perks: a direct flight from Kathmandu to and from Lukla, for instance which is currently very difficult to get.. We had a very good initial meeting in Kathmandu, and even more importantly Naba was anxious for our personal feedback at the end of the trip to improve future operations for clients. And the guide Chherwang was exceptional as well. I am already a mountain guide and trek leader with many Nepal and Tibet adventures under my belt. We needed a local guide/coordinator who was collaborative and open to different ideas (especially as this was a private not group trip). Chherwang constantly was checking in with us to make sure that our needs and desires were met, and asking if there were any problems. It was almost a 'western' approach in dealing with guests, compared to other local leader and companies I've dealt with in Nepal. Very refreshing, and very helpful.
Best Destination,Recommended by Friend,Best and Selected Tours,
Yes

Mera Peak Climbing-with local culture and lifestyle

| Feb 29, 2020
Alfie Wheeler
United Kingdom flag United Kingdom
Pre-trip Info
Staffs
Transportation
Value for Money
I recently did Mera Peak Climbing with TRA. I was not sure if I could do it or not, but once I met personally with Chhewang (my climbing leader), I felt good. He showed me some of his pictures from him more than 100 peak climbing adventures. We had tea-talk, and it was immensely satisfying, and I was excited about the climb. My every single day was more than just an adventure- it was a mountainous life full of amazing stories. I was dwelling and interlacing with local culture and lifestyle. I could not expect more. I was rewarded with the best experience and admittedly my leader, Chhewang turned out to be a friend for life. Before I conclude my words here, I want to thank Mr. Naba for his personal touch and time and my guide/leader, Chhewang, for this beautiful trip.
Best Destination,
Yes

Trekking in Nepal-Mardi Himal

| Feb 29, 2020
Jason Freeman
United States of America flag United States of America
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
We in2itially booked an EBC trek but cancelled it when the weather turned foul and our flight got cancelled. Instead of waiting for the skies to clear up and losing a couple of days from our holiday, my wife and I thought it best to cancel our EBC Trek and do the Mardi Himal Trek instead. Naba suggested this trek and I am glad we did this. Being Botanists and keen birdwatchers this was the perfect for us. The trail meandered through a deep forest of rhododendron and oak. Our guide Shiva gave us space and time to take in the views, photos and patiently shared with us the local names of the birds and vegetation. And though it was cloudy on the first day, the skies luckily cleared up as we climbed higher. We both felt a bit queasy and had a mild headache while we were in Low Camp. This was due to the altitude. I felt okay after taking Diamox and a night’s rest. But since Sheryl was still not feeling okay we decided to spend an extra day at Low Camp. Shiva was a great help and took very good care of us. He made sure we had plenty of warm fluids to keep us hydrated. FYI dehydration is one of the major causes of altitude sickness, so one should drink plenty of fluids at higher altitude. As promised the views from High Camp were breathtaking. Words fail to do justice to the grandiosity of the views. One has to experience it. No regrets for taking this trek. This was hands down the best trekking adventure we have ever taken. Thanks to all the team at TRA for giving us a great holiday. We will travel with you again!
Recommended by Friend,
Yes

Mardi Himal Trek-An Amazing Adventure

| Feb 29, 2020
Cecelia K. Becker
United States of America flag United States of America
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
We love to travel independently but this time around we decided to book through an agency as we had very little time in Nepal. We didn’t want to waste our time planning the logistics. One of our friends recommended Third Rock Adventures to us. It would suffice to say that we were not disappointed. We were a bit apprehensive to use a local company but Naba was so helpful and forthcoming with the information that we booked our trip with them right away after the first conversation. We wanted awesome mountain views but less crowds and a trek that would last for about a week. Among the recommended treks, we chose Mardi Trek. We trekked during early winter (first week of December). Some parts of the trail were covered in thick snow and there were very few trekkers on the trail. The pristine snow covered views and the frozen walls of the Fishtail Peak are etched in our memories. The humorous stories shared by our guide Shiva and Thule, our good-natured porter, kept us in good spirits. I sure am not surprised with the sheer number of positive reviews Third Rock has garnered. They are really good at what they do. Thumbs up to their excellent service! Would plan more trips with them in future.
Yes

Sign up and Win a Free Everest Trek!

Sign up for our newsletter and don't lose your chance to win a free Everest Trek. Get alerts on amazing travel deals and latest news.