TRAVELLER'S REVIEWS

Travel experiences of our clients who recently returned from their trips.

100%
Satisfied

Based on 110 reviews

Great holiday to the Himalayas

| Jul 25, 2019
Gerard Ahlberg
Sweden flag Sweden
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
I am not much of a traveller, but my friends managed to convince me to go on a vacation with them. Let’s say I love my creature comforts and don’t like moving out of my comfort zone. This trip was a challenge to me because I was travelling to places that I had only seen on television. I was anxious but at the same time I was ready to take this as a personal challenge. Let me say that I did the right thing by saying ‘yes’ to this trip. I met some extraordinary people and overall had an awesome experience. Bhutan was the Shangri La of my imagination - remote, pure and untouched by the vagaries of civilization. The unspoilt nature, interesting culture and content people made me fall in love with this country. Above all else the absence of western-style consumerism and the care for environment make this one of the best countries in the world. Kathmandu was crowded and chaotic. Taking a rickshaw ride round Thamel was so much fun. Got to taste some freshly brewed coffee at some of the local cafes. Tasted great and flavorsome. It was raining cats and dogs in Pokhara, so we decided to cancel our hike. Instead we explored the Tibetan refugee camp and visited a ‘Thangka’ workshop. Lhasa looked glitzier and modern than I expected. I enjoyed watching the monks’ debate and the walk through Barkhor Square. Thanks to Third Rock, our entire trip was beautifully planned. Be it itinerary, hotel arrangements or transportation, every part of the trip was very well managed. All our guides were knowledgeable and informative. I strongly recommend this company.
Best Destination,
Yes
The whole trip ws memorable.
Don't forget to carry a waterproof cover for your belongings if you are travelling during the rainy season.

One of the best holidays I have ever had - Nepal-Bhutan Tour

| Jul 16, 2019
Crystal Clarke
Canada flag Canada
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

I undertook the Jewels of Nepal and Bhutan Tour with Third Rock Adventures five months ago. I had been meaning to post a review but I was kept rather busy, until now. From the moment I arrived in Kathmandu to the moment my trip ended, the team took very good care of me. The initial email communications were prompt and precise. As I am not too good with computers (I hardly use them), I had some issues booking the trip online. But Hari ironed out the problems and made the process very easy for me. Kemal introduced me to some of the oldest Hindu and Buddhist temples in Kathmandu. I found the Nepalese very friendly and open. In the west, strangers hardly make eye contact, but in Nepal it is not uncommon for virtual strangers to meet and talk like long lost friends. I met strangers who offered their help (when I suffered from a nasty fall while on a late evening stroll alone) without asking anything in return. Bhutan was lovely and peaceful. Ogyen, my guide had a wealth of information to share. The hike to Tiger’s Monastery left me huffing and puffing, but the views more than made up for the hard climb. It is hard to believe that this monastery, which lies straddled on a huge rock face, was built by humans. Faith does move mountains and this seems to particularly true in this part of the world. Bhutanese culture is very unique and I felt privileged to have the opportunity to experience it. I do hope that the Bhutanese people will retain their culture and not let western influence change their perspective. I highly recommend this tour and look forward to many more journeys with Third Rock Adventures.

Good Value,
Yes
Because I wanted to go where I have never been to.
Be open to new experiences. That's the only you get to enjoy your travel.

Himalayan Tour- Nepal, Bhutan,Tibet

| Jul 08, 2019
Eli Morris
Australia flag Australia
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

Though I liked their itinerary, I was a bit hesitant to let a company that is not based in Australia plan my trip. But I read their reviews on TripAdvisor and their website. All of their clients had something good to say about them, so I thought maybe these guys may be good at their job after all. Without further ado I booked my trip online and it was a seamless process. Hari got in touch with me and sent me a few tips on how I could prepare for my trip physically. It was pretty helpful because the itinerary included hikes in all three countries.

Flying into Bhutan was like entering a secret destination. The aircraft literally flew between mountains and entered a valley filled with what looked like cute wooden houses. Bhutan tour was amazing. It was heartening to see the Bhutanese take pride in their culture and conservation efforts. The rest of the world should learn a thing or two from this tiny Himalayan nation about safeguarding our environment and saving our planet. There was a slight drizzle during our hike to Tiger’s Nest and the view was not that clear, but nevertheless entering the sacred monastery and meeting the monks made my day. Compared to the cities in Bhutan, Kathmandu was busier and chaotic. But there was a kind of energy and the people were very friendly. I enjoyed walking through the temples and stupas which my guide Kamal informed have been in existence for more a thousand years. Pokhara was beautiful.

I also enjoyed Tibet a lot. It was a journey worth taking. The majestic Potala Palace, the monasteries with monks engaged in lively debates, the Barkhor Square etc., these were memorable sights. Thank you to all my guides and drivers - Dawa, Peljor, Kamal, Ten and all the staff of Third Rock Adventures for this wonderful holidday. I highly recommend this company. When you book a trip with them your money will benefit local businesses.

Good Value,
Yes
Because i have always wanted to visit Bhutan and Tibet.
Tiger's nest, Patan, Pokhara, Bhakatapur and Lhasa.
Try to use local services and purchase goods from local people whenever possible.

Bhutan Journey

| Jul 04, 2019
Gerald Hopkins
New Zealand flag New Zealand
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

We had a fabulous trip to Bhutan. Our guide Sonam had so much information to share about the many monasteries and dzongs that we visited. As my wife is a botanist she greatly appreciated his vast knowledge about the local flora and fauna. It was clear that he was keen bird watcher from the way he explained their habits and tweets. The accommodation and food was superb. Though a bit spicy, we really enjoyed trying out the chili and cheese dishes. The hikes were comfortable and tailored for our fitness level. The hot stone bath was therapeutic and relaxing. Observing the local archers battling it out at the archery ground was fun. The dancing and singing cheerleaders really livened up the event. Wish we could have stayed for some more days. Thanks to Third Rock for planning this fantastic vacation. Anyone planning of a Bhutan trip should get in touch with these guys!

We had always wanted to visit Bhutan.

A beautiful hike to Naudanda and Sarangkot

| Jun 30, 2019
Freja Gustafsson
Sweden flag Sweden
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

Nepal has been my favorite destination since I spent my Gap year volunteering at a small village on the outskirts of Kathmandu. This was 15 fifteen years ago and I have returned again several times to this wonderful country. After each trip I discover there is so much to take back with me. The friend ship of the Nepalese people; their simplicity, openness and genuine warmth; the inspiring trips to the mountains and exploring places and meeting people that enrich your experience not only as a traveller but as a human being. This time around I was here on business so could only squeeze in 2 days to explore. I booked Naudanda Sarangkot Hike with Third Rock Adventures after a colleague recommended this company and itinerary. The online booking was very easy. After I booked the trip, I received an email confirmation and a call from their office informing me that my guide would pick me up from my hotel in the morning. As promised Diwakar, my guide, arrived on time. After introduction he apprised me in brief about the route and condition of the trail and soon we were on our way. We began hiking from Phedi, a small village on the outskirts of Pokhara. It was a typical hill-walk with lots of greenery and the twittering birds for company. There no other hikers and apart from a few locals we were the only ones on the trsail. Fishtail and the rest of the Annapurnas stretching on the horizon looked majestic. Views of the lake were equally mesmerizing. This hike was refreshing and invigorating, just what I needed to reboot my system! If you are in Pokhra and want to see the mountains without a noisy crowd standing around you, then you should do this hike. You will get to enjoy the amazing views in peace. Enjoyed the hike immensely. Will use this company again to book more tours in the near future.

Recommended by Friend,
Yes
After a tiring walk being rewarded with the view of phewa lake and the mountains.
Do this hike and connect with nature .

Awesome Nepal Bhutan trek

| Jun 25, 2019
Nathan Lapointe
Canada flag Canada
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
We did the Druk Path Trek and substituted the Poon Hill Trek with Kathmandu tour and day hike, as we had already done the Ghorepani trek. We actually wanted do the Manaslu circuit but the weather turned lousy and we had to abandon our trekking plans in Nepal. We changed our itinerary several times but the team at Third Rock was always understanding and flexible. The Bhutan portion of our trek was awesome. I had never been on a camping trek and the experience was incredible. Walking with the horses, dining under the open sky and sleeping in tents, it was a novel experience. The trail was nearly empty and it felt great to have it to ourselves. Breathing the pure mountain air is one of the best experiences in life. Monasteries in the middle of nowhere, the laidback lifestyle of the people, stretches of green forests and the influence of Buddhism - exploring Bhutan was worth every penny that we spent. Thanks to Sonam, Wangdi, Kamal and Ram. We had a great time. Will be back for more!
Good Value,
Yes
We wanted to so something adventurous in Nepal and Bhutan.
Try to be flexible and keep an open mind, and yes, act respectfully.

Annapurna and Druk Path Trek - the best combo trek!

| Jun 12, 2019
Manuel Mendoza
United States of America flag United States of America
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

We did this trip in spring and boy, did we love it! My wife and I are ardent hikers and we tend to take off to the mountains whenever we get a chance from our busy schedule. We had trekked through the Inca Trail, Kilimanjaro, Everest Base Camp, Grand Canyon and the Chadar (River Zanskar) Trail. Bhutan had been in our bucket list for a long, long time. Initially we wanted to do the ‘Snowman’s Trek’ but when our Travel Consultant from Third Rock Adventures suggested this trek, we couldn’t say no. This trip combined a trek in the Annapurna Mountains with a trek in Bhutan. Since we could visit two countries in one go, we finally decided to book this trip. We rarely get to take long vacations and the option of combining two destinations in one trip appealed to us greatly. Moreover the Ghorepani Trek was also one of the treks that we wanted to do. Taking this trip was like killing two birds with one stone.

It was raining when we arrived in Kathmandu. But thankfully the weather cleared when we began trekking. The first day’s walk to Ulleri was kinda tough. Those were never-ending killer steps! This was the only tough portion; the rest of the trek was easy. The rains cleared up the sky and we were presented with some outstanding Himalayan views. It was humbling to stand so close to these great mountains! At Banthanti, a villager whom we befriended on the way invited us to his home to taste a dish made of local frog. Amy declined, but I gladly tried it. It tasted like chicken. Kathmandu was chaotic and we were glad to leave it behind. The flight to Paro was almost surreal. The Himalayan range towered above white wispy clouds and I went crazy clicking on my camera. I felt as if nature was giving us a big hug when we arrived in Bhutan. There is so much of greenery around that you automatically feel soothed and restful. Though tougher than the Annapurna Ghorepani Trek, the Druk Path Trek left us with a feeling of achievement. Some portions were challenging and we struggled especially when the weather turned inclement. It was a good thing that we had packed our rainproof gear. Through those brief spells off spring showers, we were able to keep ourselves dry. The kitchen crew and our guide kept us entertained and well-fed. Their humor and good cheer kept us in good spirits and helped us ignore the harsh weather.

All in all we had a great trip. Thank you so much to the team at Third Rock Adventures for planning our trip and introducing us to Bhutan. We have completely fallen in love with this country and we sure will be back for more adventures! This trip as well as this agency is highly recommended!

Good Value
Yes
Because we liked this itinerary.
Do not forget to pack your waterproof rain gear because you don't know what the weather has in store for you, especially in Bhutan.

Trekking to Everest with friends

| Jun 12, 2019
Gabriella Wagner
Luxembourg flag Luxembourg
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
It’s really tough to put down Everest Base Camp trek into words; I will try my best. I opted to go trekking with a local company because even if you book with an international company, local company will be operating the tour. Why not book directly with a local company! I came across Third Rock Adventures’ Everest Base Camp product which was well designed. I inquired about the trek and they were quick with responses. They assisted me to prepare the trek, even suggested ways to prepare for the trek along with necessities to pack for the trek. I didn’t want to over pack. I and a couple of friends were trekking in the Himalayas for the first time so we had a lot of questions which they duly answered. The representative of the company was waiting for us on arrival, checked into the hotel and after relaxing we met our guide. He briefed us about the trek and his expertise made us more confident. Before the trek we went sightseeing; Kathmandu has pretty cool ancient architectures. After a thrilling flight to Lukla, we started the trek. Personally, I felt liberating to be in the mountains and the trek gave us a lot of time to talk, laugh, share, and enjoy each other’s company. I had watched enough videos on YouTube and was skeptical if I would enjoy the trek. After doing the trek I can surely say I loved every bit of it and doing it with friends enriched that experience. The cool breeze, the chilly wind, the sound of the river, swaying prayer flags and excitement on the first sight of Everest, I can go on with the list! Mount Ama Dablam is a beauty, and it deserves a lot more praises. The altitude really makes walking a difficult task. We had each other’s back and pushed each other to the base camp and back. It will be that memory which would be part of our group chat for long. Also, we wanted to relax a few days in Pokhara and they seamlessly incorporated our preferences into an itinerary. Amazing team highly recommend them guys!
Best Destination,Good Value,I like itinerary,
Yes
Trekking poles will become your best friend and don't think highly of food looking at the menu. Pizza and pasta don't taste as it would back home!

Nepal Bhutan Tour

| Jun 10, 2019
Zhang Yong
People`s Republic of China flag People`s Republic of China
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

I travlled with family to Nepal and Bhutan. Trip very good. No problem. Lumbini, the birthplace of Sakyamuni was very peaceful. My children enjoyed Chitwan wildlife safari. While hiking to Bumdra we felt tires but camping at Bumdra was nice. Tiger’s Nest was the best! Third Rock Adventures guides are excellent.

Recommended by Friend,
Yes
Lumbini tour, Chitwan , Bumdra Monastery and Tiger's Nest.

A series of wonderful memories

| Jun 10, 2019
William Bach
Denmark flag Denmark
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
I cannot thank the team of Third Rock Adventure enough for making my trip of Nepal and Bhutan series of wonderful memories for a lifetime. It was one of the companies that I sent inquiry during my research period of this trip. It kept up with my busy schedules with several follow up emails. After a few exchanges of emails and the phone call I felt the company can be trusted enough to go on an organized tour with them. The company was knowledgeable and provided us with detailed itinerary as well. The travel expert answered my queries and promised that the trip would be as promised; it was indeed. I always wanted to visit Nepal and Bhutan but my partner isn’t too keen about the Himalayas. So if you ask me why it took so long to visit then, you know now! I am glad that she enjoyed as much as I did. My partner didn’t believe that Nepal is much more than “trekker’s paradise” until she saw Nepal’s rich culture and tradition. Lucky to see a breathtaking sunrise from Nagacot, thanks to the pouring rain of previous night. We skipped the hike to one of the oldest temples of Nepal. In Bhutan sky is bluer, air is cleaner, forest is denser and ambience is spiritual. An architectural delight, temples dedicated to Buddhist masters and extremely warm and a bit shy people. Was stunned when our guide said the dzong was built with wooden block not a single nail used! I enjoyed the stayed at good hotels both in Nepal and Bhutan. I am not a finicky eater but my partner is and she didn’t like food in Bhutan much. Talking about the drivers of Nepal and Bhutan they were very skilled. In Nepal, our driver took us through the chaotic traffic which was, to be honest overwhelming. I don’t know how they drive in the capital city, Kathmandu. Ride to Baktapour was fun though. Talking about the roads of Bhutan, there wasn’t traffic but the sharp turns and winding roads are fun. My initial panic subsided when I realized I was in able hands. The vehicles are way better in Bhutan than Nepal. Touring with a local company is a hit and miss but this one is definitely a HIT!
Good Value,I like itinerary,
Yes
Always wanted to hike to Tiger’s Nest with her and it was an amazing hike. Made many memories but this was the most special one.
Consider opting for internal flights if you suffer from motion sickness.

Sign up and Win a Free Everest Trek!

Sign up for our newsletter and get a chance to win a free Everest Trek. Get alerts on amazing travels deals and latest news.


Contact Us


Head Office
Keshar Mahal Marg Thamel, Kathmandu
North America
Australia
10 Terrigal Drive Noble Park North