TRAVELLER'S REVIEWS

Travel experiences of our clients who recently returned from their trips.

100%
Satisfied

Based on 128 reviews

Mardi Himal trek, a spectacular trek

| Dec 13, 2019
Hjalmar Nilsson
Sweden flag Sweden
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

We initially booked an EBC trek but cancelled it when the weather turned foul and our flight got cancelled. Instead of waiting for the skies to clear up and losing a couple of days from our holiday, my wife and I thought it best to cancel our EBC Trek and do the Mardi Himal Trek instead. Naba suggested this trek and I am sure glad we did this. Being Botanists and keen birdwatchers this was the perfect for us. The trail meandered through a deep forest of rhododendron and oak. Our guide Shiva gave us space and time to take in the views, photos and patiently shared with us the local names of the birds and vegetation. And though it was cloudy on the first day, the skies luckily cleared up as we climbed higher. We both felt a bit queasy and had a mild headache while we were in Low Camp. This was due to the altitude. I felt okay after taking Diamox and a night’s rest. But since Sheryl was still not feeling okay we decided to spend an extra day at Low Camp. Shiva was a great help and took very good care of us. He made sure we had plenty of warm fluids to keep us hydrated. FYI dehydration is one of the major causes of altitude sickness, so one should drink plenty of fluids at higher altitude. As promised the views from High Camp were breathtaking. Words fail to do justice to the grandiosity of the views. One has to experience it. No regrets for taking this trek. This was hands down the best trekking adventure we have ever taken. Thanks to all the team at TRA for giving us a great holiday. We will travel with you again!

This was recommended to us and it turned out to be the trek for us.

Awesome 15 days in Nepal

| Dec 07, 2019
Klaudia Fried
Germany flag Germany
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

Hallo! Namaste! My trip was fanntastic. After planning for 2 years, I finally did this trek and it is one of the best travel adventures of my life. I set my foot on the base camp of Everest. Such an amazing feeling. I had the best pictures of Base Camp. The chains of mountains this trek offered are breathtaking. Imagine standing on top surrounded by mountains and serene Lake! The constant views of the Himalayas was something I loved about this trek. I just walked and enjoyed the trek, rest were done by guide and TRA Team in Kathmandu. Meal was good, people were warm and welcoming and the mountains were spectacular. I still miss my moment at Gokyo Lakes and Everest Base Camp.

It was on my bucket list. I wanted to do this to see the highest mountain in the world.
Gokyo Lakes and constant views of the mountains.
If you are planning for this trip, do it. Nothing can stop you!

FANTASTIC CLIMBING

| Dec 07, 2019
Matthew Clendinnen
Australia flag Australia
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

What an adventure! I climbed Lobuche Peak and I brag about this every time I get a chance among my friends. It was a tough decision for me to climb a peak- did lots of research and finally decided to do and here I am, on top of peak in the Himalayas of Nepal, I feel proud of it. Well, had it been some other company, I would not have done it for sure because Third Rock Adventures had first impression on me that they were reliable and had amazing mountaineering team. They nailed! When I inquired just a question, they were quick and friendly. I felt like talking with a friend. Mr. Naba called me and consulted me and that was super-amazing move. I asked about the mountaineering leader and was again impressed by his more than 25 years of experience. And this led to booking. I was escorted to my hotel, nice hotel and we had quick meeting. The TRA Team had nice office and Naba and I had coffee talk where I was briefed about my trip including his experience. He sound so confident and professional! When we had first Lukla flight I felt I was in the right hand. Trekked along the legendary trekking trail to EBC. I was mesmerized by it's beauty. This trek was more than I expected, it was power-packed with lots of attractions. We slept at hotel in Namche, Dingbocche, Tengboche and even hiked to Kala Patthar. I did not knew I would get all this in this trip. Interestingly, we had pre-climb training. My leader was superb with his job, taught me all the little things and moves when climbing the peak. At times, it was hard for me but my leader was always there for me. And he is a friend of mine now. a friend from Nepal.

Well I wanted to climb a peak in Nepal and Lobuche happened to be my choice and most recommended.
From the top of the peak, I felt like I am in heaven.
Go for it, don't think twice if you want to do peak climbing.

Awesome Climbing Experience

| Dec 05, 2019
Cristina Cremonesi
Italy flag Italy
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
Ciao! Namaste! My 18 days in Nepal with Third Rock Adventures was awesome and something I could never imagine. It all started with a Google Search ( list of gears required for lobuche peak climbing) and I found the blog on the website of Third Rock Adventures. The blog was comprehensive and I enjoyed it and inquired on a whim. I thought I could at least give it a try and sent my inquiry. And in no time I got response from them, with all the details I needed. I asked for the procedure to book, payment and all. They helped me and cleared all my doubts. And at this point I was impressed by their customer service and asked if we could talk on the phone and surprisingly they agreed and we had quality talk and I booked right then. I went to Nepal and I was greeted at the airport, escorted to my hotel and had brief meeting. Mr. Naba was so friendly and professional. He invited me for a tea-talk and my mountaineer leader joined us. We had nice short meeting. This is something what a traveler would expect from a tour operator. And talking about my trip, it was fantastic. I was served the best service throughout the trek. My hotels and meal were above average. My leader helped me with everything. MY pre-climbing training was the best part of this adventure. He had more than 25 years of experience in mountain climbing. I am not sure about his name, but I called him Chewyang. He was so energetic and determined with every steps. Back in Kathmandu, we again had meeting with Mr. Naba. He asked me about my trip. I truly enjoyed the way the company treated me. I absolutely loved everything about the company.
Google Search
Yes
After 3 years of saving and planning, I did this trip.
my mountaineering leader and pre-climbing training.
Do it for an experience that is beyond normal adventure.

Awesome adventure

| Dec 05, 2019
Callum McGill
United States of America flag United States of America
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money
Dear all, I am writing this review to share a few things with you that you might not get from any other person traveling to Nepal. First thing, Nepal is a country where you can go through any circumstances, and it depends on you and the travel agency you choose, so it is very important to know the travel agency you choose. I chose Third Rock Adventures for two reasons: 1) Recommended by friends and 2) Naba (whom I happen to contact when I inquired for a trip). I asked some of my friends if they know any trust-worthy tour operator in Nepal and they recommended this agency as they had personally known Mr. Naba. Naba, the president of this company called me and asked me few things and eventually we became friend. I then knew I am in the right hand and booked immediately. Mr. Naba helped me throughout the booking process and when I was in Thamel, Nepal, we met and had amazing time. He showed me his office and his team. It was so so wonderful to have personal touch. Then he introduced me to his guide and other team, briefed me about the trip, dos and don'ts and most importantly- the flight to Lukla. It was very hard to get first flight to Lukla from Ktm, but Naba through his contact booked me first hour ticket to Lukla. It was impressive. I had guaranteed departure just as the company promised me.. Talking about my trip, it was best days in the mountains- crossing rivers, high mountains pass, talking with local people, and enjoying their local food and warm hospitality. My guide ensured every task was done before and perfectly. All I did was follow the guide and enjoy the trip. Had I gone with another company, I would not have enjoyed much, so I am absolutely thankful to the company for this. I owe them many many tons of thankfulness. I will be doing trip with them next year. And if you ask me to trust this company, a BIG YES from me! Because I have been with them and done with them- and they excelled . I could not thank them more.
Good Value,Recommended by Friend,
Yes
I wanted to do other than Everest Base Camp
Crossing all three mountain passes in Everest Region and the Himalayan vista (I am now obsessed with the mountains)
Just go to the mountains, you'll learn a lot.

Gokyo Trek and EBC

| Dec 03, 2019
Zach Nadeau
Canada flag Canada
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

I trekked to Gokyo and EBC with a bunch of friends in late October 2019, and I must say we had an amazing time. This is not an easy trek and at some difficult sections we really struggled, but the views were worth it. At every turn we were presented with jaw dropping views of mountains, glaciers and the lakes. We were totally smitten! Thanks to Shiva our guide and porters, Raju and Kancha. Your encouragement and good humour really helped us get through those challenging portions. For those who are up for a challenging hike in an extreme landscape, this is a must-do. Just make sure not to let that altitude get to you! And by the way don’t forget to book with Third Rock Adventures because they have the best contacts and guides who really know their job. While trekking we came across this couple from New Zealand who was having trouble with their guide. They had fallen for that ‘low budget trek’ trap. The agency they booked the trek with had given them a guide with zero knowledge and communication skills. He knew only some basic English words and was more inclined to play games in his mobile than to look after his clients’ well-being. After listening to their list of woes we sure were glad that we booked with Third Rock Adventures. Paying a little extra does make a huge difference in the kind of service you receive. Very satisfied with TRA’s service. Will certainly use their services again.

Best Destination,Good Value,
Yes
view from Gokyo Ri, reaching EBC and Kala Patthar. we were lucky enough to enjoy clear weather.

Everest Base Camp Helicopter

| Dec 02, 2019
Teddy Kino
United Kingdom flag United Kingdom
Pre-trip Info
Staffs
Transportation
Value for Money

Highly recommended for Adventures trips in Nepal. As I was in Thamel area I decided to meet the team in person. Prayana was most helpful. He explained the trip in meticulous details. Most of all I was assured that weather permitting i will be taken to kalapather where the views of Everest will be the best and indeed it was. I suspect that some companies dont offer this. We were collected in a nice car at 5 am for the Airport. After basic security checks (make sure you have ID. Ideally copy of your passport and the visa) we were taken to the Helicopter take off site on the side of the main airport. At each point a guide escorted and explained the process. The Helicopter company Alttitude Air is top notch with state of the art helicopters. The pilot Pasang was amazing. He looked after us so well and kept us entertained. The whole process is quite complex and involves a lot of logistics. All done extremely efficiently. When we arrived back a guide Babu was waiting for us. He too was superb and looked after us well. We were again driven back in a nice Taxi. All in all Third Rock Adventures are highly recommended. They have experience and dedicated guides who speak fluent English Hindi and I am sure other languages too lead by a good management. Mr Nab personally came to see me too which was lovely. Leaving Nepal with lot of Happy memories

Yes

Island Peak climbing -Amazing Adventure

| Dec 02, 2019
Steve Parkar
New Zealand flag New Zealand
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

Incredible Island Peak Climbing, a perfect combo of trekking and climbing. Soaring the height of 6000m peak and views of some of the lofty mountains, including Everest was two highlights of this trip, and I was awe-inspired continuously by it. Kala Patthar was heaven for me. I was breathing amidst the Himalayas.

The hotels in Namche and the aura of Namche Bazar allured me to stay for a few more days, but I had to adhere to the itinerary. From the top of the Island Peak, the jagged-panoramic mountains were otherworldly. It was literally insane. I wanted to do it one more time. Probably next year, I will do it again with my squad. And now I am bragging about this amazing adventure and experience. I will soon be there again.

Yes

Mera Peak Climbing-with local culture and lifestyle

| Dec 02, 2019
Daniel G
New Zealand flag New Zealand
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

I recently did Mera Peak Climbing with TRA. I was not sure if I could do it or not, but once I met personally with Chhewang (my climbing leader), I felt good. He showed me some of his pictures from him more than 100 peak climbing adventures. We had tea-talk, and it was immensely satisfying, and I was excited about the climb. My every single day was more than just an adventure- it was a mountainous life full of amazing stories. I was dwelling and interlacing with local culture and lifestyle. I could not expect more. I was rewarded with the best experience and admittedly my leader, Chhewang turned out to be a friend for life. Before I conclude my words here, I want to thank Mr. Naba for his personal touch and time and my guide/leader, Chhewang, for this beautiful trip.

Yes

Amazing Trip to EBC

| Oct 13, 2019
Julieta Correia
United States of America flag United States of America
Pre-trip Info
Meals
Staffs
Transportation
Accommodation
Value for Money

Hiked to Hike up to 6 places above 5000 meters - Kongma La, Cho La, Renjo La, Everest Base Camp, Kala Patthar, and Gokyo Ri. Had super-exciting days in the forest areas, hills and mountains. We thoroughly enjoyed our time at local tea houses, with the warmth in the dining hall and stories of people. The meals were so good, dal bhaat really is amazing. The trekking trails of Everest Region is full of magic and wonders. We meet fellow travelers en route and shared feelings and excitement. Our guide was friendlier than we expected. He managed everything beforehand and let us enjoy. With tired legs and hands, the night was all to rest and relish the beautiful moments of the day. Gokyo Ri rewarded us the most stunning views. We were awestruck by the beautiful views of mountains: Mount Everest, Lhotse, Nuptse, Cho Oyu, and Ama Dablam. Overall, this trip was a lifetime experience for us. I loved Nepal.Thanks to Third Rock Adventures for your service. We admire you as our travel companion.

Obviously for the highest mountain in the world.
The mountains and the local people and their lifestyle
Explore the Everest Region of Nepal. You will enjoy beyond your imaginations.

Sign up and Win a Free Everest Trek!

Sign up for our newsletter and don't lose your chance to win a free Everest Trek. Get alerts on amazing travel deals and latest news.